Safety and security alerting services

We provide an air cargo or mail carrier operating into the European Union from a third country airport (ACC3) alerting system in support of the EU ramp inspection programme.

The European Union Ramp Inspection Programme requires each participating State to perform inspections of third country's aircraft and community aircraft. It has two major components:

  • Safety Assessment of Foreign Aircraft (SAFA) - aircraft used by third country operators
  • Safety Assessment of Community Aircraft (SACA) - used by operators under the regulatory oversight of another EU Member State.

These safety services provide for the inspection of aircraft suspected of non-compliance with the applicable requirements (either international safety standards or EU standards). Ramp inspections may also be carried out in the absence of any suspicion.

In the framework of SAFA, the Safety list of aircraft prohibited to enter European airspace is established. In addition, a list for the prioritization of ramp inspections is compiled after SAFA data analysis. The Network Manager provides support by performing EC SAFA – Safety List Alarming Function.

At EUROCONTROL, as Network Manager, we supports the European Union’s ACC3 (Air Cargo or Mail Carrier operating into the Union from a Third Country Airport) programme with its NM ACC3 Alerting System. Under this programme, air carriers that fly air cargo or mail into the EU from a non-EU airport are required to comply with the EU ACC3 programme for inbound cargo and mail.


The service provides:

  • SAFA safety alerts and warnings to the European Commission, European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and National Supervisory Authorities (NSAs);
  • air cargo or mail carrier operating into the European Union from a third country airport (ACC3) alerts to the European Commission and the National Authorities.


This is a restricted service only available to certain stakeholders.

Related services and tools

Flight plan filing and management


Collaboration human machine interface


Network operations portal


Network Manager business-to-business web services


Integrated initial flight plan processing system