Raúl Medina Caballero elected President of the Provisional Council

4 December 2017

At the 48th meeting of EUROCONTROL’s Provisional Council on 30 November/1 December 2017, Raúl Medina Caballero was elected President of the Provisional Council for the years 2018 and 2019, with the possibility of renewal for another two years.

EUROCONTROL’s Provisional Council is responsible for implementing general ATM/ANS policy, as decided by the Permanent Commission, and for supervising the Agency’s work.

Mr Medina graduated with a Master’s degree in Aeronautical Engineering from the Polytechnic University of Madrid and an Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree from the University of Columbia (New York), where he was a Fulbright Scholar.

He started his career working as a Project and Systems Engineer in the Siemens Group. In the Ministry of Public Works and Transport, he has held several positions, all of them in the regulatory and controlling activities related to air transport.

He is currently the Director General of Civil Aviation at the Spanish Ministry of Public Works and Transport, and President of the Spanish Aviation Safety State Agency (AESA). He is also a member of the Board of Directors of ENAIRE (Spanish Air Navigation Service Provider), SENASA (Services and Studies for Air Navigation and Aeronautical Safety) and INTA (National Institute of Aerospace Technology).

Throughout his professional career, he has been involved in many international projects, contributing to the work of EUROCONTROL, the European Union, ECAC and ICAO. At present, he is a Member of the ECAC Coordinating Committee and Focal Point for Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS) at ECAC.

Mr Medina will be working alongside the four Vice-Presidents of the Provisional Council. At PC/48 Mr Franz Nirschl (Austria) and Ms Mirjana Cizmarov (Serbia) were re-elected as Vice-Presidents, and take their places again alongside Mr Alojz Krapež (Slovenia) and Mr Stephen Hand (UK), whose mandates continue.