Estonia set to join EUROCONTROL

28 June 2013

A Declaration of Intent has been signed by Frank Brenner, the Director General of EUROCONTROL and Juhan Parts, the Estonian Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications, setting out the intention of Estonia to join EUROCONTROL with a target date for accession of 1 January 2015.

This will mean Estonia will become EUROCONTROL’s 41st Member State, following the accession of Georgia which is expected in the next few months. 

The signing ceremony took place at the end of a visit by Frank Brenner to Estonia in which he met with the Estonian government, the Estonia Civil Aviation Administration and Estonian Air Navigation Services.

The accession of Estonia will mean that all 27 European Union states will also be members of EUROCONTROL. 

The signing of the Declaration was welcomed by Siim Kallas, Vice President of the European Commission, Commissioner for Transport and former Prime Minister of Estonia.