What are the FAB (Functional Airspace Blocks)?

A functional airspace block is an airspace block based on operational requirements and established regardless of State boundaries, in which the provision of air navigation services and related ancillary functions are optimised and/or integrated.

FAB definitions are constantly evolving according to the targets defined to improve the performance of the European air traffic management network. Latest developments include the following:
• UK-Ireland FAB
• Danish-Swedish FAB, now out of North European FAB
• Baltic FAB (Lithuania, Poland)
• BLUE MED FAB (Albania, Cyprus, Greece, Italy and Malta), now excludes Tunisia and Egypt
• Danube FAB (Bulgaria, Romania)
• FAB CE (Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovak Republic, Slovenia)
• FABEC (Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Switzerland)
• North European FAB (Estonia, Finland, Latvia, and Norway)
• South West FAB (Portugal [Santa Maria FIR excluded], Spain).

The FAB definitions have been updated in August 2012 along with the new definitions stipulated by the European Commission (see Current phase in the process of establishing FABs).

FAB Europe